

1Saint-Dizier
In Saint-Dizier, the Musée Municipal (free of charge) has the second-largest collection of Guimard cast iron in the world. This ornamental cast iron can also be seen in the streets of the town, particularly on the facades of houses (balconies), but also in more recent street furniture from the GHM foundry (benches, lighting, etc.).
2Wallace fountain
3
Wallace fountain built in 2023
4
From the 12th century onwards, many forges were established in the villages of the Blaise valley, grouped together under the name of Forges de Wassy.
Take a stroll through the streets and admire other works from the local foundries, such as the blessing angels in the church and the statues in the Parc des Promenades.
5
The working-class houses in Brousseval are an unusual part of the town's historical heritage. In 2022, Brousseval town council decided to have around fifty of these houses repainted. The work, paid for by the local authority, will give these buildings a remarkable cachet.
6Rachecourt-Suzémont
There is an old blast furnace (Tempillon factory) first mentioned as such in 1646. More surprisingly, in the village cemetery, a replica Lancaster DS 689 aircraft with a 3-metre wingspan, made by apprentice boilermakers, was inaugurated in 2023 to commemorate the 80th anniversary of the crash of this British bomber shot down by the Germans in 1943.
7Metallurgic Park
Discover an original tour that traces the history and development of cast iron, from its origins to today's industrial know-how, recognised both in France and internationally.
Thanks to a modern scenography and an immersive museography, the site immerses you in the world of this emblematic local industry.
8
9Montier-en-Der
The town of Montier-en-Der boasts a collection of cast-iron statues and fountains created by Durenne in Sommevoire in the 19th century. The ‘Marianne’ statue of the Republic in front of the Palais Scolaire, cast in 1908, highlights this know-how.
10Montreuil-sur-Blaise
Montreuil-sur-Blaise had a metallurgical factory in 1621 and a furnace from 1648. Around 1890, the furnace ceased to operate. A waterwheel was installed to power the machine tools of a foundry making wood-burning stoves. Still visible in the village, this wheel was renovated in 2024.